Award Winners at the Santa Fe Independent Film Festival
For the Santa Fe Independent Film Festival's 10th Anniversary, we welcomed filmmakers and moviegoers from around the country and around the world. Including over one hundred films and events--a Lifetime Achievement Award for animator and director Bill Plympton, a Visionary Award for documenteur Alexandria Bombach, Masters Discussions and educational panels, a Filmmakers Brunch, and five nights of parties at the hottest venues in downtown Santa Fe--this year's festival proves the Santa Fe Independent Film Festival remains a pillar of our community.

The Santa Fe Independent Film Festival's Opening Night featured the NM premiere of The Long Dumb Road at Violet Crown Cinema, followed by the fan-favorite Opening Night Party. SFIFF honors Bill Plympton with the Lifetime Achievement Award, followed by his short film, The Modern Lives, and feature film, Revengeance, co-directed with Jim Lujan. Plympton joined SFIFF for a Master Class at CCA. The epic response to On Her Shoulders demonstrates Santa Fe's dedication to its hometown talents, as well as the world of cinema.

Our 2018 Jurors for feature films were:

Lee Zlotoff

Famous for his original creation, the MacGyver television show (as well as executive producing its contemporary counterpart) Lee Zlotoff has also received the coveted Audience Award at the Sundance Film Festival for his film The Spitfire Grill.

David Paulsen

The creator of the 1980s hit soap opera, Dallas, writer, director, and producer David Paulsen is also known for his work on Dynasty and Dangerous Curves.

Kathleen Broyles

President of the Board of The Milagro Initiative, and is consultant to Sundance Institute, where she has worked since 1990. Kathleen is also a location casting director known for productions like Honeydripper and Silver City. 

Cassidy Freeman

Known for her roles in television's Smallville and Longmire, actress and musician Cassidy Freeman also acted in and produced the stunning New Mexico-filmed feature length drama, Cortez.

Andrea Meditch

Oscar award-winning film producer Andrea Meditch boasts numerous recognized documentaries, including Man on WireEncounters at the End of the WorldDangerous Acts, and the winner of Sundance Film Festival's Audience Award, Buck.

Maura Studi

Actress, producer, and writer Maura Studi known for Defending the Fire and A Thousand Voices

James Lujan

Chair of IAIA's Cinematic Arts Department, James Lujan. 

Nathan Hollis

Actor, writer, and director Nathan Hollis is Cinematheque Manager at Santa Fe's Center for Contemporary Arts, and is best known for his first feature film, Harry & Avis.

Jill Momaday

Daughter of Pulitzer Prize Winning author N. Scott Momaday, Jill Momaday works her creative talents as an actress, author, and director.

Scott Hussion

A director and producer, Scott Hussion most recently completed the chilling horror flick 14 Cameras, which was shot right here in Santa Fe
Matthew Stanasolovich - Filmmaker Matthew Stanasolovich is wrote and directed The General Specific.

Andrea Monier

Producer and documenteur Andrea Monier produced the documentary Tapia about New Mexico boxer Johnny Tapia. Andrea is also VP of Business Operation for Ruthless Pictures. 

Castle Searcy

A freelance design/branding expert and documentary film producer, Castle Searcy serves as the Festival Dailies Manager for the Denver Film Society.

Our 2018 Short Film Jurors were: Mara Bresnahan, Juliet Burch, Karen Embry, KJ Mohr, Gregg Perkins, Matthew Spain, Leah Umberger, Patti White, and Gail Yasunaga.