Skip to Content


Award Winners at the Santa Fe Independent Film Festival
For the Santa Fe Independent Film Festival's 10th Anniversary, the City Different welcomed filmmakers and moviegoers from around the country and around the world. Including over one hundred films and events--a Lifetime Achievement Award for animator and director Bill Plympton, a Visionary Award for documenteur Alexandria Bombach, Masters Discussions and educational panels, a Filmmakers Brunch, and five nights of parties at the hottest venues in downtown Santa Fe--this year's festival proves the Santa Fe Independent Film Festival remains a pillar of our community.

The Santa Fe Independent Film Festival's Opening Night featured the NM premiere of The Long Dumb Road at Violet Crown Cinema, followed by the fan-favorite Opening Night Party. SFIFF honors Bill Plympton with the Lifetime Achievement Award, followed by his short film, The Modern Lives, and feature film, Revengeance, co-directed with Jim Lujan. Plympton joined SFIFF for a Master Class at CCA. The epic response to On Her Shoulders demonstrates Santa Fe's dedication to its hometown talents, as well as the world of cinema.

Our honorees for 2018 follow:

SFIFF 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award:
Bill Plympton

SFIFF 2018 Visionary Award
Alexandria Bombach

2018 Santa Fe Independent Film Festival's Juried Awards:
  • Best Narrative Feature: Horizonti directed by Tinatin Kajrishvili
  • Best Documentary Feature: The Silence of Others directed by Almudena Carracedo and Robert Bahar
  • Best New Mexico Narrative Feature: I Am That directed by Joy Marzec
  • Best New Mexico Documentary: Hiro's Table, directed by Lynn Hamrick
  • Best NM Short: Falling directed by Ewen Wright
  • Best U.S. Narrative Short: One Small Step directed by Aqsa Altaf
  • Best Int'l Narrative Short: Gaze directed by Farnoosh Samadi
  • Best Documentary Short: Period. End of Sentence directed by Rayka Zehtabchi
  • Best Animated Short: Weekends directed by Trevor Jimenez
  • Best Experimental Short: My Dead Dad's Porno Tapes directed by Charlie Tyrell
  • Audience Choice Documentary: The Providers directed by Laura Green and Anna Moot-Levin
  • Audience Choice Narrative: Good Girls Get High directed by Laura Terruso
  • Audience Choice Short: So You Like the Neighborhood directed by Jean Pesce

Our 2018 Jurors for feature films are:
Lee Zlotoff - Famous for his original creation, the MacGyver television show (as well as executive producing its contemporary counterpart) Lee Zlotoff has also received the coveted Audience Award at the Sundance Film Festival for his film The Spitfire Grill.

David Paulsen - The creator of the 1980s hit soap opera, Dallas, writer, director, and producer David Paulsen is also known for his work on Dynasty and Dangerous Curves.

Kathleen Broyles - President of the Board of The Milagro Initiative, and is consultant to Sundance Institute, where she has worked since 1990. Kathleen is also a location casting director known for productions like Honeydripper and Silver City.

Cassidy Freeman - Known for her roles in television's Smallville and Longmire, actress and musician Cassidy Freeman also acted in and produced the stunning New Mexico-filmed feature length drama, Cortez.

Andrea Meditch - Oscar award-winning film producer Andrea Meditch boasts numerous recognized documentaries, including Man on Wire, Encounters at the End of the World, Dangerous Acts, and the winner of Sundance Film Festival's Audience Award, Buck.

Maura Studi - Actress, producer, and writer Maura Studi known for Defending the Fire and A Thousand Voices.

James Lujan - Chair of IAIA's Cinematic Arts Department, James Lujan.

Nathan Hollis -Actor, writer, and director Nathan Hollis is Cinematheque Manager at Santa Fe's Center for Contemporary Arts, and is best known for his first feature film, Harry & Avis.

Jill Momaday - Daughter of Pulitzer Prize Winning author N. Scott Momaday, Jill Momaday works her creative talents as an actress, author, and director.

Scott Hussion - A director and producer, Scott Hussion most recently completed the chilling horror flick 14 Cameras, which was shot right here in Santa Fe.

Matthew Stanasolovich - Filmmaker Matthew Stanasolovich is wrote and directed The General Specific.

Andrea Monier - Producer and documenteur Andrea Monier produced the documentary Tapia about New Mexico boxer Johnny Tapia. Andrea is also VP of Business Operation for Ruthless Pictures.

Castle Searcy - A freelance design/branding expert and documentary film producer, Castle Searcy serves as the Festival Dailies Manager for the Denver Film Society.

Our 2018 Short Film Jurors are Mara Bresnahan, Juliet Burch, Karen Embry, KJ Mohr, Gregg Perkins, Matthew Spain, Leah Umberger, Patti White, and Gail Yasunaga.

2016 SFIFF Award Winners

2017 SFIFF Award Winners