Skip to Content

Home :: Press & Media :: Archives :: 2016 Press :: SFIFF 2016 Award Winners

< Previous

SFIFF 2016 Award Winners


Santa Fe, NM (October 26, 2016) Santa Fe Independent Film Festival brought down the curtain on its eighth annual film festival. Celebrating five extraordinary days of cinema that included over one hundred films and events, a Lifetime Achievement Award for Jacqueline Bisset, masters discussions and educational panels, a Filmmakers Brunch at Bouche French Bistro, and five nights of parties at the hottest venues in downtown Santa Fe. People from dozens of states from both coasts and international filmmakers joined the festivities in downtown Santa Fe, for the third week of October.

Santa Fe Independent Film Festival opened with the NM premiere of Trespass Against Us to a sold-out audience at Violet Crown Cinemas and closed with a sold-out show at Jean Cocteau with Maya Angelou And Still I Rise. SFIFF presented the Lifetime Achievement award to Jacqueline Bisset, presented by Ali MacGraw followed by a Q&A hosted by Geoff Dyer. Jay Roach joined SFIFF as the keynote speaker at the Filmmaker Brunch addressing what it means to be a director from New Mexico. These events represent the dedication of Santa Fe Independent Film Festival to support and create a vibrant film community in Santa Fe.

Santa Fe Independent Film Festival Announces Award Winners of the 2016 Festival:

SFIFF 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award: Jacqueline Bisset

SFIFF 2016 American Filmmaker Award: Jay Roach

2016 Santa Fe Independent Film Festival's Juried Awards:

  • Best Narrative Feature: Le Dep directed by Sonia Boileau
  • Best Documentary Feature: Hotel Dallas directed by Sherng-Lee Huang, Livia Ungur
  • Special Jury Prize Documentary Feature: Off the Rails directed by Adam Irving
  • Best Short Documentary: Fairy Tales by Rongfei Guo
  • Best Short Narrative: I Used to be Famous by Eddie Sternberg
  • Best New Mexico (Feature): The General Specific directed by Matthew Stanasolovich
  • Best New Mexico (Documentary): Longshotsville directed by Jody McNicholas
  • Best New Mexico True Short: Hummingbird and Crane by Veronica Rodriguez
  • Best Santa Fe Student Short: I am thy Weapon by Razelle Benally
  • Best Animated Short: Adam by Evelyn Jane Ross
  • Best Experimental Short: Tied between Shift by Amanda Moran and Subotika: Land of Wonders by Peter Volkart
  • Audience Choice Award (Documentary Feature): Learning to See: The World of Insects directed by Jake Oelman
  • Audience Choice Award (Narrative Feature): To Keep the Light directed by Erica Fae
  • Audience Choice Award (Narrative Short): Tied between The Ravens by Jennifer Perrott and The Babysitter Murders by Ryan Spindell
  • Audience Choice Award (Documentary Short): Fairy Tales by Rongfei Guo

About the 2016 Santa Fe Independent Film Festival's Jury

Narrative Feature Jury:

Pen Densham is a British-Canadian-American film and television writer, producer, director and author, known for writing and producing films such as Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves and television revivals of The Outer Limits and The Twilight Zone, as well as writing, producing and directing MGM's Moll Flanders, starring Morgan Freeman and Robin Wright.

Kathleen Broyles has worked with the Sundance Institute Feature Film Program and Film Festival since 1989. Her work expanded into New Mexico with the creation of "Milagro at Los Luceros" a collaboration between the State of New Mexico and Redford Enterprises. She is the Program Direction for Milagro at Los Luceros, and President of the board of "The Los Luceros Milagro Initiative" whose missions are to increase the presence of Native American, Hispanic and underrepresented voice in the film industry.

Eileen O'brien is Volunteer and Membership coordinator for Denver Film Society and has worked in the past for Cannes Film festival and Sundance Film Festival.

Andrea Monier is an independent film producer and actress. She produced Jesse Baget's White Knight (AKA Cellmates), which was acquired by Gravitas Ventures, Viva Pictures and Warner Bros. Her recent producing project, Tapia, was sold to HBO. Ms. Monier also heads up Ruthless Studios (Ruthless Pictures)

Brian Corrigan is the founder and director of OhHeckYeah, a public benefit corporation that uses the power of play to strengthen the social, economic and physical fabric of place. His work has been recognized by ArtPlace America, NPR, PBS, Springwise, PSFK, Dwell, Huffington Post and Cool Hunting.

Castle Searcy is on the Advisory Committee for the Denver Film Society's Reel Social Club and writes the Festival Dailies for the Starz Denver Film Festival and the Stanley Film Festival.

Don Lewis -Hammer to Nail

Frank Ragano -Currents New Media Festival

Shane Slattery-Quintanilla -Producer of The Seventh Fire

Mariannah Amster -Currents New Media Festival

Get your Event Passes Here